Frequently Answers and Questions

1. Check in when you arrive for your appointment.

2. You will be provided forms that are required to be submitted to the state along with a short medical questionnaire for the doctor.

3. We make a copy of your photo ID for submittal to the state.

4. After the forms are complete we will review them for any errors.

5. You will then meet with a licensed physician who specializes in cannabis, cannabinoids and their medical efficacy. The doctor will complete a physical exam and review your medical records to determine your qualifying condition(s), then fill in all necessary state forms for your medical marijuana license.

6. We make copies of the forms required to be submitted to the state for your records and ours. Your originals are returned to you for submitting to the state.

7. You will then meet with one of our representatives, who will review the process for submitting your application to the state and answer any remaining questions you have about medical marijuana. You will also receive information about medical marijuana resources in your community.

Valid identification such as a State Drivers License, State ID, Passport etc.. Your Social Security number is required for the application, your Social Security card is not required. Medical records of your current condition you are being treated for. A list of any medications you are taking and a list of allergies. The fee depends on the requested plant count and whether it is a first visit or a renewal. It includes the Doctor and Notary fees. (Cash, Credit, or Debit only) (OPTIONAL) You may also bring a $15.00 money order payable to: CDPHE - This is for the CDPHE application processing fee.

You will have a complete discharge explaining the regulations and boundaries on sending your paperwork to the registry. You may request a copy of the law however we cannot give you legal advice. Please visit the Colorado Department of Health and Environment on requirements for proof of residency when applying with an out of state I.D.

The Registry requires proof of identity and residency when submitting forms with an out of state ID. Forms without proof of identity and recidency are rejected. Patients who submit a Colorado issued ID do not need to submit additional proof of residency. Renewing patients are required to have a Colorado State ID.


-Out of State Drivers License or ID (Must not be expired)

-Military ID (Copies of both front and back)

-Tribal ID (Must be issued by a federally recognizied Native American Tribe)

-U.S. Passport, Passport card, or Foreign Passport (Must include signature and both sides)

-Social Security Card (Must be signed)


-W-2 (Must be for the most recent tax year)

-Paystub (Must be issued in the last 60 days)

-Government issued benefit letter (Must be issued within the last calendar year)

-Certified Colorado tax return (Must be certified for the most recent tax year)

-Colorado Motor vehicle registration (Must be issued within the last calendar year)

All documents submitted as proof of residency must have:

1) The patient's first and last name.

2) An account number or other unique identifying number.

3) A Colorado address.

4) The issuing organization's identifying information, such as logo and/or contact information.

5) A standard format verifiable with the issuing organization.

6) A current date, within 60 days.

Who can apply?

To receive a medical marijuana registration card, you must:
  • Be a Colorado resident. Proof of identity and residency will be required with your application.
  • Be receiving treatment for a qualifying medical condition.
  • Be examined by a doctor with whom you have a bona fide physician-patient relationship.
  • Submit a complete application packet. (Forms available at all clinics)
How do I apply for a card?

You must submit a complete application packet, which includes:

1.Application for Registration Card or Medical Marijuana Registry Card Application for Patients Under 18 Years of Age.

2. A physician certification completed by your doctor. This form is included with the application form above.

3. A copy of your Colorado ID. If you do not have a Colorado ID, submit proof of identity and Colorado residency. The application instructions include a list of documents we accept.

4. Caregiver Acknowledgement and a copy of your caregiver’s valid ID, if a caregiver is listed on your form.

5. A check or money order made out to CDPHE for the application fee of $15.00,Request for Fee Waiver/Tax Exempt Status and supporting materials.

Application Processing Address: CDPHE HSV-8608 4300 Cherry Creek Drive South Denver, CO 80246-1530

How do I renew my card?

You must submit a renewal application every year to remain on the registry. The renewal process is identical to the new patient application process. To avoid delays in service, send your paperwork to us 45 to 60 days before your current card expires. Do not send your renewal applications to the Registry more than 60 days before the expiration date on your card. Renewal applications received more than 60 days before the expiration date are rejected. Your nonrefundable application fee will be deposited. Then, you will have to submit a new application packet and fee, if decide to renew within the 60-day window.

I have submitted my application. What happens now?

Applications are processed in the order they are received at the Registry. It takes about 35 days for complete, accurate application packets to be processed. Please contact us if you have not received a letter or your card within 35 days. Following is the application review process: Initial Review: The Registry reviews all applications against criteria described in the application instructions. The nonrefundable application fee, if included in the application packet, is cashed. Approved Application: If your application packet is complete and has all supporting materials, your card will be mailed to the address on the application. Rejected Application: If your application packet is inaccurate or incomplete, you will receive a rejection of application letter that details the corrections necessary. You will be given a 60-days reply period in which to make corrections. Approved Corrections: When corrections are submitted to the registry, they are reviewed for accuracy and completeness. Corrections are processed based on the date received.Your card will be mailed to you, if the corrections meet requirements and complete your application packet. Corrections Beyond 60-Days: If you do not send requested corrections within the 60-day correction window, you must submit a new application packet and application fee. Denial: Denied applications are different than rejected applications. A denied application means that the applicant has violated a statute or Board of Health regulation and is being denied access to the Registry. If your application is denied, you must wait six (6) months before re-applying for a medical marijuana registration card. Appeals: If your application is denied, or the Registry suspends or revokes your current registration card, a notice will be sent to you with details regarding the reason for denial, suspension or revocation. If you disagree with a final decision, you may send a letter to the Registry requesting an appeals hearing. The request for hearing must be received by the Registry within thirty (30) calendar days from the date of the postmark on the notice.

How do I check status of my aplication form?

Most applications and forms take 4 to 6 weeks for processing. To check the status, contact the CDPHE by phone or email. You will be asked to provide the following information to protect your confidentiality: Full, legal name Date of birth First five digits of your social security number* Current mailing address *If you would prefer not to provide your social security number, the representative may ask you an alternate question from your records.

Tips for Successful Submissions

The Medical Marijuana Registry frequently returns application packets and forms due to easily preventable mistakes. Below is a checklist to help you avoid delays in application or forms approval.

1. Schedule an appointment with a doctor who has a M.D. or D.O. license in good standing with the Colorado Medical Board. You may verify the doctor’s status at

2. Renewal patients please begin your re-application process 45 – 60 days before the expiration date on your current card.

3. Use the current version of application and other forms.

4. Fill forms out completely. Write neatly.

5. If you make a mistake, complete a new form. Do not cross-out, write-over or use white-out to correct information.

6. Sign and date forms in front of a notary. The notary may not be the caregiver, patient’s physician or person signing the form of payment.The dates of your signature and the notary’s signature must be the same.

7. If a fee is required, include a form of payment. Make the check or money order out to CDPHE. Do not send cash.The patient’s name must be on the form of payment.Verify the check or money order is made out for the correct amount.If using a check, the Registry does not accept temporary checks.If you qualify for a fee waiver, submit a Request for Fee Waiver/Tax-Exempt Status form and a certified copy of your most recent Colorado tax return.

8. Include all required IDs. Include a copy of your Colorado driver’s license or state ID.If you do not have a Colorado ID, submit your out-of-state ID and proof of Colorado residency. If a caregiver is listed on your form, include a copy of the caregiver’s ID.

9. Incomplete forms or application packets will be rejected and returned to you. Completed application packets include: The ApplicationA Physicians Certification.A copy of the patient’s ID.If a caregiver is listed, a copy of the caregiver’s IDs.If the patient does not have a Colorado ID, include proof of residency paperwork.A check or money order to cover fees or a Request for Fee Waiver/Tax-Exempt Status.

10. Submit forms and all supporting paperwork to the Registry in the same envelope. The Registry cannot match items sent separately.

11. Send all forms within the required timeframe. Applications must be received at the Registry within 60 days of the physician’s signature on the Physicians Certification.